Under my Christmas tree-For Samuel Morant

I wish I could wake up and see dad under the Christmas tree

That maybe the heavens returned him for Christmas

A part of you feels like it’s life and you are expected to understand and move on

But when I look at the pieces I see parts of him everywhere

Like today, how do I put the pieces together when today is his birthday?

Torn between missing him, being strong for the family, feeling like a piece of me is missing and still trying to be happy for the festive season

but its a Christmas without dad,

But I express it a day at a time, one tear at a time

Remembering to make every moment special

So in honour of him I remind all of us to not delay love

Let love flow everyday, tell relatives & friends how you really feel as often as you can

because its the worst feeling to have so much to say today that you should’ve said yesterday

I wish dad was under my Christmas tree

but I take comfort in knowing that on my Christmas tree, the angel on top will be filled with pieces of Dad.

In honour of Samuel Morant & the Morant family

Leave a Reply

